Natural

I am an eleventh grade IBDP (International Baccalaureate Diploma Program) student and I am currently doing an internship at a multi specialty clinic.We interns got the opportunity of  going to almost every department of the clinic like Pediatrics, Radiology, Tele-medicine, Gynaecology, Nutrition, Laboratory, Internal medicine, Orthopedic, Physiotherapy, Pharmacy, Dental, Laboratory, etc.

The other day, I had Pediatrics and I was all like, ” Yeah! I love kids! I’m pretty sure I’m gonna nail this…”. Little did I know that this would end up being one of the most emotional experiences of my life. I went up to the third floor of the clinic at 10 AM and introduced myself as an intern to the receptionist. She said that I’d have to wait for half an hour ’cause the General Pediatrician would come only at 10:30 AM.

I was OK with this since there were many kids playing around and one could spend hours together with these cute little God-gifts. So, I said a little hello to a kid who was riding this small bike-for-kids sorta thing. He was damn shy; he just flashed me this gorgeous little grin and moved away. Later, I saw another not-so-shy older girl and had a short conversation with her. I then played with her. Meanwhile, the shy-guy was called in for an appointment.

That’s when I first spotted her. As soon as she saw that the kiddy bike was free, she screamed out loud with joy and ran towards it. She was so elated to ride the bike that she constantly kept smiling as she rode it. Looking at her made me happy. But, unfortunately, I felt like that only for a second…

The very next second, I turned my head away, with tears welled up in my eyes. If i turned around, I would end up crying. That poor kid had microcephaly, a condition where the babies are born with small heads because of lack of development during pregnancy. In such cases, the child doesn’t have the ability to learn, see, hear etc properly…. Children are God’s natural, pure, harmless gifts. THEN WHY ON EARTH DOES THIS HAVE TO HAPPEN TO THEM?? WHY ? WHY? WHHHHHYYYYYY???? UGH..

Even as I type this, I picture that girl, with her normal body small head, running frantically toward the kid-bike, yelling at the top of her voice, with sheer joy. I picture her father, looking at her, thanking God that he has enough money to afford the child’s education in an appropriate school, the doctors’, therapists fees, etc. When I picture this, it makes me wanna fight for such children; I feel like protesting against the judgmental people who think that they have the rights to make fun of these special people. Children are natural. They’re  harmless. You CANNOT judge them.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

